Integrating NAFHA with iNaturalist?

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

Do you think that NAFHA should create a project on iNaturalist?

Yes
31%
No
62%
Undecided - need more info
8%

Total votes: 13

Squam8

Integrating NAFHA with iNaturalist?

Post by Squam8 »

Hi NAFHA members,

I've been following this forum for a number of years but in recent years have not posted much nor uploaded much to the database. Its not that I haven't been collecting data, but rather accumulating lots of photos and field notes that sit around in my computer or desk drawer. The major thing preventing me from uploading this stuff to the database is a lack of free time, which is unfortunate (as a graduate student, I can always find something relatively urgent that should be occupying my attention at any given moment). However I recently started getting into the iNaturalist app. The nice thing about this app is you can quickly snap a photo on your phone and it can import all the metadata right into your entry. In the field it only takes about 1 minute to make an entry, so it's not like I have to sit down in front of my computer to enter data every time I get home after an outing, which I am rarely in the mood to do after a herping trip (yeah I'm kinda lazy). Also, it's not restricted by taxonomy or geography, so you can accumulate sightings of other things too like birds or plants, or herps outside north america. It's cool because people can help you ID stuff you don't know. I'm learning a lot about plants that way right now, as I go herping! The project features is very flexible, for instance I am sharing my herp data from SoCal with the RASCALS project (run by LA County and San Diego Natural History Museums) and there is a seperate project for Baja California, etc. Similar to NAFHA, you can set your coordinates to be private, obscured, or open. I noticed some folks have accounts on both sites. I was wondering if NAFHA has any plans to create a project on iNat