Cleaning Up Frog Call Recordings with Audacity

Photography knowledge exchange.

Moderator: Scott Waters

chrish

Cleaning Up Frog Call Recordings with Audacity

Post by chrish »

Thought I would throw together a quick how-to for cleaning up Frog Call recordings for entry into the NAHERP database.

The reason I think this is important is that unlike entering a photo of a frog in the database, a recording tells you more about the population, i.e. that they are breeding. Furthermore, you can record frog calls from private property which might be otherwise inaccessible for photos. However, getting recordings as vouchers into the database is a bit more difficult that just uploading a photo from your phone. So here's a simple and free way to get the recordings vouchered. It may seem convoluted here, but actually it only takes a few seconds once you are used to it, and many of the steps aren't necessary for each recording.

I should point out I am not an audio engineer and I have only the most basic experience doing this sort of stuff. Heck, I don't understand half the language of recording which may become evident in my misuse of it in this post! :oops:

The program I use for this is a free program called Audacity. There are other sound editors but Audacity is easy to use, powerful, available for all operating systems, and did I mention it was free?

You can download Audacity at http://www.audacityteam.org/. (updated link Feb 2016)
In order to export MP3s (which the database requires), you will probably also need to install the free LAME MP3 encoder.
You might also need the free FFmpeg Import/Export Library to import your audio files since by default Audacity only imports a few file types.

These add-ons work within Audacity so once you install them they work seamlessly.

There are great installation instructions for Windows/Mac/Linux on these links. If I can install this, anyone can!

So here's how I generally work on my calls for the database: