Ideas for low light macro

Photography knowledge exchange.

Moderator: Scott Waters

corey.raimond

Ideas for low light macro

Post by corey.raimond »

Hi everyone,

I am used to taking photos in bright (or at least some) light. I moved to Seattle area and September-April 90% of the time it is complete overcast and often under dense evergreen trees which makes it even worse. I am also somewhat new to adjusting the manual settings, in the past I would just put it on auto and not think twice about it.

I have turned the ISO up, but am reluctant to always have it up. I don't have experience with external flash, but would be willing to invest in something.

Does a tripod make that big of a difference vs. me laying on my belly and using my arms as a tripod?

Tell me about what settings/setup you (would) use in this situation...

I am usually taking picture of small things on the ground: salamanders, fungi, flowers, inverts etc. I currently have a Sony NEX, but I may get a newer Sony soon.

Any ideas appreciated. Thanks!

-Corey
bgorum

Re: Ideas for low light macro

Post by bgorum »

corey.raimond wrote: Does a tripod make that big of a difference vs. me laying on my belly and using my arms as a tripod?

Tell me about what settings/setup you (would) use in this situation...