Lens...Lost in a Maze!

All things winged.

Moderator: Scott Waters

candycornsnake

Lens...Lost in a Maze!

Post by candycornsnake »

So I have been a nature lover forever...but recently became single and decided to spend time herping and birding.
I have a fairly good digital camera. Nothing amazing...but a Canon Rebel and I am in search for a good lens.
I want something I can use for wildlife that isnt god awful expensive. But I don't even have a clue what size to look for! Any advice for what to look for in a good all around birding lens for my camera?
Do I have to use canon products? Is the actual connnection universal? What sizes do I need to look for?
I am complete noob with this.
I did just get some 8x42 binoculars thanks to advice I saw on this forum. It was great to have a idea of what type/size worked best for an average.

Thanks so much!
Tara
chrish

Re: Lens...Lost in a Maze!

Post by chrish »

Tara,

Bird lenses are long lenses. Birds generally don't allow close approach the way herps do and most birds are fairly small. In general, I would consider a 300mm lens to the minimum length for a bird lens. 400mm is better, but heavier and more expensive.

One other issue with bird photography is that birds have feathers which show fine detail, or its absence. Therefore, a shot of a bird where you can't see much feather detail doesn't look sharp. This requires good (sharp) lenses. So not every 300mm or 400mm lens will give you the results you want.

Then there is the zoom issue. Zooms are generally cheaper and more flexible in regard to what you can shoot, but they generally aren't as sharp. There are some good zooms that will produce excellent results, but there is a lot of junk out there.

Finally, there is the expense. I don't know what you mean by "god awful expensive". Good lenses generally cost more.