Which Snake has the worst smelling musk?

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

Brendan Murray

Which Snake has the worst smelling musk?

Post by Brendan Murray »

I'm not sure if this topic has been posted before but thought it would be fun to get some thoughts. Since I'm relatively new to herping, I've only been musked on by watersnakes, garters, ringnecks and ratsnakes and IMO watersnake musk is the worst. Maybe because of the generous amount they like to divy out. Anyone else?
brick911

Re: Which Snake has the worst smelling musk?

Post by brick911 »

I want to put more thought into this before answering, but I think maybe this question could be two-fold. How about worst-smelling, and longest lasting? Because some seems to wash off easier. And to me, when my hands still smell seven washes later, that would be the worst.
millside

Post by millside »

I used to think ringnecks.
but now no doubt is the orange bellied litter snake. absolutely gut wrenching. :lol:
Darnell Brister

Post by Darnell Brister »

Ringnecks if you are in the U.S. Ughhh
Nick Scobel

Post by Nick Scobel »

For me, Queen Snakes are the worst. Even after several handwashes, the smell still persists for a day or more, it's awful.
bwaterherper

Post by bwaterherper »

Going to go with water snake on this one; not only is the smell terrible but the amount is ridiculous
TJP

Post by TJP »

I've always found northern ringneck's to be really pungent, especially the monsters we have in NY. They seem to be way bigger and more aromatic than the northern's I've found in other states or the southern's I've found. Water snakes and garter's can be pretty stanky, too. The worst was a large, wild boa constrictor we found in Costa Rica. You could smell it from 20 or 30 feet away. That was one funky ass snake....
ThatFrogGuy

Post by ThatFrogGuy »