Ridley Sea Turtles ...

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

Jeffreyrichard

Ridley Sea Turtles ...

Post by Jeffreyrichard »

Warning ... NO pictures :o

Some of you know I am involved with a Red Bellied Cooter Headstart Program through the MASS Wildlife ... my wife and I raise hatchlings over the winter (the past 8 years) and the turtles are released the following spring.

Anyway, one of the turtles in this year's batch (of 12) became sick ... stopped eating. I have since given it (instructed by the sponsor) to The National Marine Life Institute in Bourne, MA where they are testing and (hopefully) rehabing this sick guy. Now, as I stated, my wife and I have been doing this for 8 years, and we've probably head started over 50 hatchlings ... only 2 fatalities and 2 sick turtles out of this number (which is not too bad ...)

ANYWAY ... when I brought the sick guy to the Institute last week, I got a chance to see Eight Ridley Sea Turtles that are being rehabbed at the center ... they were stranded on Cape Cod beaches in Nov/Dec (there were quite a few strandings this year) and severely stress due to the cold. Vey very cool (sic.) turtles.

Here is a link ... http://nmlc.org/2012/12/meet-the-turtles/

I wasn't expecting to see them so I didn't bring my camera ... bummer
ZantiMissKnit

Re: Ridley Sea Turtles ...

Post by ZantiMissKnit »

Awesome! I just shared that on Facebook -- thank you!

My husband did the red bellied hatchling head start years ago, before I met him. I still have never seen one.
Jeffreyrichard

Post by Jeffreyrichard »

ZantiMissKnit wrote:Awesome! I just shared that on Facebook -- thank you!

My husband did the red bellied hatchling head start years ago, before I met him. I still have never seen one.
Hatchlings

At release ... 10 months old

tomharten

Post by tomharten »