Rattlesnake Handling YES or NO

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

John Delgado

Rattlesnake Handling YES or NO

Post by John Delgado »

In reference to this thread ---► Hanldling Wild Herps POLL http://www.fieldherpforum.com/forum/vie ... =2&t=21776

However, this thread is specific to rattlesnake herpers

I'm new to herping as of May 2014 - And I am specific to rattlesnakes since I have a 2 mi x 3 mi area that is covered with rattlesnakes - and seems to be untouched. Last season I vouchered 13 subjects in a period of two months with absolutely no experience.

I have video and in the video I recorded last season, I handled all of the subjects. Then on FHF I am of the understanding that handling is not recommended, and is frowned upon. Well, there must be good reason ... and that is the subject of this thread.

My concern if for the well being of my rattlesnakes, I have immense respect for their natural life. I want to do what is right by them. So, please tell me why in situ video and photography is recommended over handling. Understand, I do believe I already understand but it's hard ... it's difficult to not handle these beautiful creatures. Additionally, I have never and DO NOT handle the rattlers from behind the head, I am NOT doing that, and most likely never will do that. I use tongs front 1/3 and a hook to support the back 1/3, sometimes my hand on the back 1/3.

Is it okay to "minimal handling" tong the rattler in a situation to photograph and video? - Or no handling whatsoever?

If your answer is NO handling whatsoever, please tell me how you do it ... I want to learn the RIGHT way from seasoned rattlesnake herpers. I want only to do what's right for my rattlesnakes ... and still get great photos and video to share my passion. Thank you - jd
Noah M

Re: Rattlesnake Handling YES or NO

Post by Noah M »