An introduction and some shots from the Northern Territory

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

the_cw1

An introduction and some shots from the Northern Territory

Post by the_cw1 »

Hi all,

I've been bugging people in various subforums so I thought I should make a formal introduction. My name is Derek, philosophically minded, and I'm an avid herp enthusiast. I am new to the hobby despite a lifelong interest in herps (particularly lizards and snakes). I'm getting used to field work, checking things out, and learning how to use my camera in the dark. I'm not sure how you pros do it, haha! I live in Oregon, and would greatly enjoy meeting up with people in the area. I love desert hikes! I was all over the desert this past summer

In either case, I thought I would share the most recent "big" herping trip I went on. I went to the top end of Australia in September. My whole album can be found through my flickr, but I linked to some of the herp shots you guys might enjoy the most. I think anyone interested in animals should go to the NT. It's hot, horrible, and a herp's paradise.

In any case, I will upload "field reports" as they happen. I have a trip planned for Costa Rica here in a few months and Arizona come the summer. Should be fun! There's some Bothrops and Crotalids with my name on them. :p

Best,
-Derek

Banded Tree Monitor - V. Scalaris
ImageIMG_3758 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Northern Water Dragon - Lophognathus sp.
ImageIMG_1082 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Water Python - Liasis Fuscus
ImageIMG_0545 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Lesser Black Whip Snake - Demansia Vestigiata
ImageIMG_0262 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Skink (Unsure?)
ImageIMG_1625 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Young Agamid (chlamydosaurus?)
ImageIMG_0937 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Frog (?)
ImageIMG_0315 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Crocodylus Johnsoni
ImageIMG_0331 by Derek Halm, on Flickr

Crocodylus Porosus
ImageIMG_1238 by Derek Halm, on Flickr
Ribbit