Need Expert Opinion On Panamint Rattlesnake ID

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

klawnskale

Need Expert Opinion On Panamint Rattlesnake ID

Post by klawnskale »

I am no expert regarding the actual range of Crotalus stephensi and I have read tidbits regarding its actual range and how far south they can be found in California. A college class is on a herping trip in the Mojave National Preserve and found this alleged stephensi on the grounds of Zzyzx . Has this species been found South of I-15 and that far west from the Colorado River? I know this photo doesn't show much of the snake, but what do you think? Actual stephensi? or mitchelli?
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =3&theater
Jeremy Wright

Re: Need Expert Opinion On Panamint Rattlesnake ID

Post by Jeremy Wright »

Looking at the range maps it's definitely not too far off of a possibility. I know Panamints have been found not far from there. Cool snake though for sure.
Jeremy Wright

Post by Jeremy Wright »

I'm no expert though so I hope someone more knowledgeable helps haha.
craigb

Post by craigb »

I have seen C. mitchelli on Kelbaker Rd. and in the Granite Mtns preserve area, as well as at Mitchell Caverns. But there should be people more knowledgeable than I that can chime in. I am sure that this is not the first one caught there. There should be records available. Study has been going on there for decades. Dr. Rulon Clark from San Diego State was there a few years ago.
klawnskale

Post by klawnskale »

craigb wrote:I have seen C. mitchelli on Kelbaker Rd. and in the Granite Mtns preserve area, as well as at Mitchell Caverns. But there should be people more knowledgeable than I that can chime in. I am sure that this is not the first one caught there. There should be records available. Study has been going on there for decades. Dr. Rulon Clark from San Diego State was there a few years ago.
Hi Craig: