Introduction of Myself - New Herper - Advice on Books, etc.

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

cjacobi

Introduction of Myself - New Herper - Advice on Books, etc.

Post by cjacobi » May 24th, 2016, 2:13 pm

Hey everyone.

I've been lurking the forum for a couple months now, and now I've finally decided to post a little something to introduce myself.
I'm a 21 year old college student pursuing my undergrad in Wildllife Management at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. I've been involved in herps slightly since my sophomore year (going to be a senior this fall) but recently this year I've really dove into it. I'm also serve as Vice President for the UTK Student Chapter of The Wildlife Society. Currently, I am a field tech for a company called Copperhead Consulting for the summer.

I wanted to ask you guys - what are the keystone books on snakes? For example, most birders love Sibley's bird field guides. Is there something equivalent to snakes? (or herps in general, I just have a strong interest in serpentes)

Also, here's is my HerpMapper profile, if you wanted to take a look. Nothing too exciting yet, but I'm updating it when I can. http://www.herpmapper.org/profile/1982-charles_jacobi

Thanks guys. :thumb:

Bryan Hamilton

Re: Introduction of Myself - New Herper - Advice on Books, e

Post by Bryan Hamilton » May 24th, 2016, 2:53 pm

The new edition of the Peterson field guide to eastern reptiles and amphibians is critical.

Also Harry Greene's Snakes: The Evolution of Mystery in Nature.

beemaster

Post by beemaster » May 27th, 2016, 1:38 pm

I fully agree with the two above recommendations. Grew up on those old Peterson's guides, and Greene's book completely changed how I looked at the natural world. That truly is not an exaggeration; everything just clicked in a way it hadn't before after I read it.

mfb

Post by mfb » May 29th, 2016, 4:49 am

Bryan's suggestions are spot-on.