Guess this Coluber game

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

chrish

Guess this Coluber game

Post by chrish »

OK, I'm pretty new at this having only been seriously herping for 40 years or so, but these things still stump me once and a while.....Which frickin' Coluber is this, a Racer or a Coachwhip?
With live ones, I don't have problems, but this one is troubling me for reasons I will elaborate on once I get some feedback. I won't plant ideas by telling you my "gut feeling" and my feeling after studying the photo, just tell me what you think.

It was DOR in Fayette County, TX (near Luling). It is going into NAHerp.com as soon as I decide what it is.

It was easy to me after I first found it, but as I drove on later, I started to wonder.

Chris
dezertwerx

Re: Guess this Coluber game

Post by dezertwerx »

Not idea here... interesting to see what others id it as :?
AndyO'Connor

Post by AndyO'Connor »

I say racer for now, can't explain with any characteristics or anything, just how I feel.
OkieHerper

Post by OkieHerper »

From my experience in OK and AR it looks like a Racer. None of the juvenile E. Coachwhips I've seen have had that clearly defined dorsal blotches. The ventral side also looks more like a Racer. Again these are far from being good detailed arguments, but I figured I would throw out my opinion. I'm curious to hear why you are troubled with the ID.

Josh
MAbernathy

Post by MAbernathy »

Looks like a juv. racer to me. Found several in the park this year. That would be my guess.

Matt
chrish

Post by chrish »

When I found it, I said racer due to the blotching pattern. Coachwhips don't (usually) show this.