SF Bay Area Rubber boa Herping Advice?

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

singeyan

SF Bay Area Rubber boa Herping Advice?

Post by singeyan »

First off, hi! This is my first post, hopefully it’s in the right place. (Sorry for the noobieness)
I’m pretty new to herping, I took a class and it started from there.
Unfortunately each time I’ve tried to go myself, if had little to no luck... it feels like I’m shooting blind haha. :crazyeyes: and is sometimes discouraging after many long attempts coming out seeing only birds and with feet full of grass again and again...
I know there are a lot of factors, like time of day, time of year, spec. Locations, etc... and that sometimes nothing turns up.
I was planning on going to Santa Cruz soon to look for rubber boas (because they’re adorable duh) but was wondering if someone could help give me a place to start. I know they are found in grasslands and woody areas often under rotting logs and on cooler days. Does anyone have any more specific spots? (PMs would be greatly appreciated) or certain parks, etc?

Any advice would be really appreciated as I would really like to start doing more herping :)
Thanks!
Yani
AEthelred

Re: SF Bay Area Rubber boa Herping Advice?

Post by AEthelred »

You got there habitat down for sure.you have done your research that's for sure.If you can find that habitat you should be successful.animals need a certain habitat and if you find the habitat you can usually find the animal or reptile.if your lucky enough to find someone here who knows Santa Cruz that would be even better
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

My guess would be, your timing is awful. But I don't know that area very well, for herps anyway.

Good hunting.
singeyan

Post by singeyan »

Thanks for the replies! :)