A North Carolina Summer

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

Jefferson

A North Carolina Summer

Post by Jefferson »

Note: the videos that accompany this post are on Bethany's channel (theherpinglizard) on YouTube, along with all our US herping content. I apologize in advance for the length of this post, as things have been eventful lately and I've had little chance to write until now.

Bethany's channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/TheHerpingLizard

This summer has been wild to say the least, and I apologize for not posting in a while. I graduated and Bethany and I married in late May, and then started a new job in early July. June was book-ended by two trips to North Carolina, one to the mountains and the other to the coast. Those two jaunts are the subject of this post.

After getting married on May 25th, Bethany and I headed down into North Carolina's Appalachians via I-81 south as twilight draped the Virginia hills in orange and blue, and night set in as we crossed into Tennessee at Bristol. From there, we traversed I-26 straight over the crest of the Blue Ridge and into NC, headed to an Airbnb near Hendersonville. After a stop at Cookout, we arrived, the dew clinging to the grass all around the cabin. This was by far the coolest Airbnb we have ever booked--it had a stream, a horse barn, a mountain view, and a practice golf course open to guests. Incredible what market-disrupting tech has done...

Bethany and I get married