Tips to find sidewinders without cruising

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

frostior

Tips to find sidewinders without cruising

Post by frostior »

Hi, folks.
I am planning a brief herping weekend for South California. I am hoping to photograph some sidewinders. In the past, I have been spotting them at night through cruising.But I saw some folks able to find them resting in coil during daytime. So I guess it is my time to try and I would greatly appreciate any tips!

Which area would you recommend during this time of year? I am thinking Mojave NP or Anza Borrego SP? Also I understand this maybe something like walking on sand dune area for tracks, but when should I set out? In Dusk before full sunset? Or at Dusk?

P.S. I am a student in Claremont, CA. If anyone have plans or want to hang out together, feel free to pm me;)
bgorum

Re: Tips to find sidewinders without cruising

Post by bgorum »

The first sidewinders I ever saw were in the El Pinacate y Gran Desierto de Altar Biosphere Reserve in Sonora. We located them by going out to the dunes in the morning and tracking them. The tacks would eventually lead to bushes were, (if we were lucky), we'd find a partially buried sidewinder. I had the opportunity to track sidewinders in this manner again in Paradise Canyon in Utah. Those remain my most memorable sidewinder encounters. There is something so cool about tracking the snakes and searching and searching at the base of a bush, where you know the snake must be, to all of a sudden see it right in front of you. I must say though, that I've tried to duplicate that success in the Algodones Dunes and Anza-borrego area without success. However, I think that is mostly a matter of not being there at the best time and not being there long enough. So, if there are any sand dunes around, I'd suggest trying to track them!
frodaman

Post by frodaman »

Hello!