Western North Carolina

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

myles456

Western North Carolina

Post by myles456 »

Hello everybody I've lurked for a while and figured I might as well join. I'm a noob at field herping and photography so excuse my bad pictures (my current herp camera is a lavender point-and-shoot my mom bought for general family use). I have been meaning to go herping forever, but during school I don't have much time and this is the first summer I have a license and/or a vehicle. Being a poor high schooler, funds are extremely limited and with gas being so expensive I have to limit myself to nearby areas. Road cruising doesn't happen except on the way to a herping site and back. I also suck at amphibian ID, so feel free to correct me at any time.

Here are some finds from the past few months (mainly three days this week).

Eastern Fence Lizards

Slimy Salamander lifer (I know, I live in the Appalachians!)

Desmognathus?

Northern Water Snake baby
I've seen numerous N. sipedon at a particular site, but all adolescent and not much thicker than my finger. I maintain that I have been cursed by the snake gods, to forever find juveniles. I hardly ever find adult anything without legs.

Ringneck Snake

Box Turtle

Finally, an adult of good size for this particular species.
Queen Snake

Black Rat Snake