Possible Mexican Records/Possiblemente recordas de Mexico

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

intermedius

Possible Mexican Records/Possiblemente recordas de Mexico

Post by intermedius »

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on the Mexico Chapter. I've read the thread of Possible U.S records, but what about the many records that have been insufficient or not known. For example, there are many unconfirmed records of Crotalus Atrox from Tehuantepec and Veracruz, that are legit Atrox and not simus, but not proven. Also, what about records of Stejnegeri and most of the Long-Tail's from Nayarit, Sonora, Colima, and Michoacan. There are also many Micrurus records never given ID's or just new records that don't make sense. Better yet, what about almost all of the Bothriechis that can make it into Chiapas, but are not recorded much from that region. I know that this may seem awkward, but what about Baja Boas :| . Yes "Baja Boas". It actually kinda makes sense because boas could have been in Mexico before Baja split. Thus, a population may occur in the Cape.

What states do you think have new or unconfirmed records? Please answer in english.

Saludos,

Justin
jonathan

Re: Possible Mexican Records/Possiblemente recordas de Mexic

Post by jonathan »

Great idea. I know that Jason Jones and company are doing a lot of work with the long-tails. I hope that someone who knows a lot more than me about Mexican herps ends up replying.
intermedius

Post by intermedius »

Would be really interesting to see what makes it around. Sucks how bad Mexico is right now. After reading Brian Hubb's book, I feel the only way to be safe is to have an AK47 with me at all times... :(
jonathan

Post by jonathan »

intermedius wrote:Would be really interesting to see what makes it around. Sucks how bad Mexico is right now. After reading Brian Hubb's book, I feel the only way to be safe is to have an AK47 with me at all times... :(