2011 zonata pairings (discussion about GIFTED hatchlings)

Captive care and husbandry.

Moderator: Scott Waters

Mitchell Mulks

2011 zonata pairings (discussion about GIFTED hatchlings)

Post by Mitchell Mulks »

Hello everyone,

This forum is incredible and is viewed by many each day. I thought this would be the perfect place to share with you some of my favorite pairings so far this spring. First, I am a resident of California, but am allowed to keep up to a maximum of 30 captive-bred zonata because of my non-commercial permit. My wife also has the same permit so our household is allowed up to 60 captive-bred zonata at any time. I just wanted to quiet and comfort any legal questions this post might create. :)

Because of a nasty heat spell my area experienced mid-February I was forced to bring my snakes out of hibernation a half-month early; therefore breeding is now in full swing when normally they'd still be only feeding. I've had the great fortune to work with zonata as my study species for my graduate work for a long while now, so I've really figured these suckers out. Lately I've been fortunate to have females lay average clutches of 7-8, and even two years ago having a female lay 20 total fertile eggs in a single season (13 in her first clutch, and seven in her second)! So far it looks like it'll be another fruitful year with large clutches.

All the photos you'll be seeing will be adult breeding pairs, or single adult snakes that should breed this year.

This first pair is my only reproductive pair of Diablo mountain kingsnakes. It'll be the first year either of them will have bred, so I'm hoping for good results. The female currently has eight eggs and is swollen like a ballon.