Southern Cali Trip - April 2016

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

ksmith44

Southern Cali Trip - April 2016

Post by ksmith44 »

I joined a couple of years ago with the best of intentions to get back into herping. I grew up in Florida flipping every rotten log I could dig up, but I am still a complete newbie out here in the desert. I have lived in Utah now for over 10 years and while I always look around when we are hiking and fishing, I really have not dedicated any time to just herping since moving out here. Family, career, ... life just seemed to get in the way. Thanks to all of your posts which provide frequent nudges to get back out there. The final proverbial straw was when my 10 year old son asked for a snake hook for his birthday. We were visiting relatives in southern California and since I was already on vacation, we managed to squeeze a day in between the beach and Magic Mountain.

Based on some great tips from forum members, especially Jimi, we focused on the desert east of San Diego - kinda bouncing around in the area between Anza-Borrego and Joshua Tree.

Conditions were great. Temps ranged from about 85 up by JT to 101 as we worked our way south. There was very little wind which I hear can be a big problem down there this time of year, and a big storm came in the next day after we left which in my experience seems to help (maybe just circumstantial - but I am sticking with it as long as it works for me)

LIZARD LOOP (I don't remember the actual name of the hike)
We went on a hike during the heat of the afternoon which my kids now call Lizard Loop since we probably saw more than 10 different species of lizards in about 2 hours. Here are a few shots of the friends we made on Lizard Loop (unfortunately the pics aren't great as I only had my phone - I was a wuss and did not want to carry my big DSLR in the heat)

Common Side-blotched Lizard (Uta stansburiana)