2020-2021 Highlights

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

gheaton98

2020-2021 Highlights

Post by gheaton98 »

Hi all,

Now that I've finally made an account I thought I'd share some of my best finds and photos from the last year. As an introduction, I'm a grad student from southern California (right now LA county to be specific). I really got into finding reptiles last spring when I realized that it was in fact possible to find more than 2 snakes a year if you actually tried (don't laugh). Being only an hour from Anza-Borrego at the time was a great way to get started (sadly, I am now confined to the north by LA traffic most days).

My 2020 nemesis the Baja collared lizard, imaged here in Riverside county this February:

A chuckwalla from the same day:

Last summer I spent a lot of time walking through boulder fields at night in the deserts of San Diego county looking for peninsular leaf-toed geckos. I mostly found Xantusia, but eventually did succeed on finding two tiny geckos on back-to-back attempts running around in near-100 degree heat.

Granite night lizard:

Peninsular leaf-toed gecko #2:

And some of the better results from road cruising the deserts:

Mojave shovelnosed snake:

Another one from the same spot:

My very first rosy boa:

Colorado desert shovelnosed snake:

A healthy sized red diamond rattlesnake from two weeks ago in Anza-Borrego:

This spring I spent some time working in New Mexico and was able to find this western diamondback on the roads there:

Some other random snakes and lizards this spring and summer:

Recently described Mohawk Dunes fringe-toed lizard (with a blood-sucking midge riding along):

Sonoran horned lizard from Yuma county:

Bleached earless lizard at White Sands:

Western black-tailed rattlesnake pretty high in the Chiricahua mountains, here seen pissed off because I interrupted its daytime road crossing by swerving around it.