2021 wrap up (Huge post, lotsa pics)

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

zeevng

2021 wrap up (Huge post, lotsa pics)

Post by zeevng »

Hi all!

Glad to see there's been some action on the forum recently, it always makes me sad to see it die down. Facebook is fun and all, but it just isn't the same as here.
2020 was a crazy year for all of us, of course, but it also allowed me to get back into herping in a way I haven't been able to in years. I work as a chef, which doesn't allow for much free time. With restaurants closing down for the pandemic, I got the chance to go out again, and started delving back into it.
After whetting my appetite in 2020, I resolved that 2021 would be a full herping year, start to finish.
I also wanted to start getting back into photography, and started putting my camera rig back together over the course of the year.
I've had mixed results, some shots I'm thrilled with, some I didn't like as much, but they're all here for you to judge for yourself! Mixed in with my real shots are a bunch of cellphone shots in instances where that's all I had, or the cellphone shot adds something a real shot doesn't.

I'll keep commentary to a minimum, and with that, let's get right to it!

January

Living in Northwestern LA county, the herp season started a little later for me than for others in SD or other areas.
I spent most of the month out scouting new spots, checking on boardlines for spring, and seeing lizards.

Great Basin Fence Lizard (Sceloporus occidentalis longipes)
ImageFencie by Zeev Nitzan Ginsburg, on Flickr
ImageFencie by Zeev Nitzan Ginsburg, on Flickr

Western Side-blotched Lizard - Uta stansburiana elegans
ImageUta by Zeev Nitzan Ginsburg, on Flickr

Northern LA County always has some weird stuff to find while scoping out habitat:
ImageHabitat by Zeev Nitzan Ginsburg, on Flickr

Look how brown and dry everything was! We had such a dry winter in our area.

February