Beginner herper: any advice?

Dedicated exclusively to field herping.

Moderator: Scott Waters

shanmei

Beginner herper: any advice?

Post by shanmei »

Hi all,

I'm a freshman at the University of Maryland. A friend of mine got me into herping over the summer, and I've had much luck herping salamanders in Shenandoah National Park. I've never been too interested in finding snakes, but we have no salamanders in this area because of the water quality... maybe northern two-lined, but I've had zero luck herping local streams and seepages.

I'm not able to leave campus or road cruise unless I'm home (rarely), as I don't have my car. I've been thinking about laying AC around some of the campus grounds or nearby trails. According to iNaturalist we have rough greensnakes and even kingsnakes around here... again, am yet to see anything. Any ideas or recommendations? I'm a very novice herper, and I'm not sure if it's rude to ask for advice or spots to herp, but any input would be greatly appreciated!!

Also, if anyone has any experience herping in the Maryland area in general, I'd love to chat. I'm originally from the Great Falls area, and have had terrific luck finding watersnakes, fence lizards, etc; but have struck out whenever I try looking for salamanders. I only have the one friend who herps, and am really lost on where to start.

Thanks in advance!
stlouisdude

Re: Beginner herper: any advice?

Post by stlouisdude »